An Interview With... Kristian Montgomery and the Winterkill Band

06/01/2021

All you need to know about metalhead turned blues country singer/songwriter Kristian Montgomery. 

Here at Middle Eight we are keen to showcase up and coming artists who are working hard to make a themselves heard.


Recently, we spoke to Kristian Montgomery and the Winterkill Band, the heart, brains, and soul of commercial fisherman Kristian Montgomery.


With his debut album The Gravel Church released in 2020, the title taking inspiration from the "barbed wire piece of dirt" he experienced in prison, Kristian delivered a record of reflection, understanding, and healing.


But he has spent no time basking in the glories of his first release. Kristian Montgomery and the Winterkill Band have taken monumental strides and are now on the brink of releasing follow-up album Prince of Poverty.


Kristian was kind enough to share B-side single 'Soul for Soul' with us, a stunning acoustic country track that couples Montgomery's raspy vocals with the use of a harpsichord to create a unique, fully rounded performance.


Find out more about Kristian Montgomery and the Winterkill Band below.


Who are you and where are you based?

I am Kristian Montgomery; my mother was a teacher and my father a fisherman from Copenhagen, Denmark. I was born in Florida and moved out of my parents' home at 16 to pursue adventures around the world. Now, I am based in a cozy fishing village in South Eastern New England.


How would you describe the music you make?

The music I make represents my life in many ways. I've traveled the world on a laborers budget. I have incorporated so many cultures, styles, and influences into the songs I write. Yet, I always return to the blues and country, it's almost part of my DNA now. But I love rock n roll, from its birth to its modern incarceration. I've been in several heavy rock bands but seem to always come home to the acoustic guitar on my front porch.


How did you first get into music?

My music career started early in life. As a child I went to church with my grandmother, who had an awful pull your ears off kind of singing voice. I was embarrassed, so I would try to sing over her to avoid the ire of the parishioners. My revered walked past me as they processional made its way to the pulpit and he heard me. A former professional tenor, he asked my family if he could give me vocal lessons.

He introduced me to The Beatles and Led Zeppelin and other rock groups and, frankly, I think he knew he was encouraging my fall from grace, but he said, "you're going to make a million dollars with that voice". I sang the Lord's Prayer and purposely started swinging my hips like Elvis. I think my pastor knew at that point it was time for me to find another platform to pursue trade.

'Prince of Poverty' the second album from Kristian Montgomery and the Winterkill Band
'Prince of Poverty' the second album from Kristian Montgomery and the Winterkill Band


Who are your main musical influences?

I'd say my biggest influence is Peter Gabriel, his stories feel familiar and he forever remains humble in his success. His songs can change the chemicals in your brain, and he is one of few artists who haven't 'sold out'.

I also love, Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson, John Denver, Chris Whitley, Glenn Campbell, Robert Plant, The Beatles.


Which artists do you currently have on repeat?

I would have to say that Ashley Campbell, Colin Hay and a heavy dose of Simon and Garfunkel at the moment. These crazy times seem to make me gravitate to the storytellers. I listen harder, I want to hear them, not just listen to them. I want people to hear me, I think my stories are important and relevant. I'm only here for a short time and feel like I deserve a headstone in the music world, something to be remembered for.


What are your plans for the future?

My plans are to keep recording songs and releasing albums until we can tour again. I think we may awaken with a heightened sense of living our best lives after this pandemic is over. I can't wait to be with my tribe, moving in tandem together to music. To connect with my people again. I want to to return to Denmark and perform in front of 10,000 screaming Vikings and feel whole again.

I am working as a commercial fisherman at the moment and the isolation of the pandemic and the solitude of being 100 miles out to sea has given me the time to reflect on what is important and I realize that all the time I spent prior to this apocalypse desiring to be left to myself was selfish. I want a village, a big fucking village, and I want to celebrate together every day. I want a party, and everyone is invited and worthy and I want to hear your stories too.


It is clear that Kristian has a story to tell. We are lucky, that he has chosen the intimate medium of his acoustic bliss and his soothing vocals to deliver this. 


Keep up with Kristian Montgomery and the Winterkill Band on Twitter and Instagram and buy his album and more on his website.


If you are an artist who would like to feature on the site, or someone who wants to get involved with writing for us, do not hesitate to get in touch on Twitter, Instagram or via email, we would love to hear from you!

Middle Eight
All rights reserved 2020
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started